If you block a follower they will not be allowed to follow you any more. They will stop receiving updates on your activity. If you would like to give a reason for the block you can do so with this form. If you specify a reason, a message will be sent to the follower notifying them that you have blocked them and giving your reason. If you don't specify a reason no message will be sent.