johnspud
johnspud on Truc Bach Market
December 30th, 2018 at 8:05 am

Veggie prices here are great and they're so friendly. This is now my main market and so close to home.

 
johnspud
johnspud on Al Fresco's (Nha Tho)
December 4th, 2018 at 8:07 am

Higher priced than Pepperoni's but the same low quality fare. Had lunch at their Aeon Mall location this week - what God awful excuse for a pizza! I must say the service was excellent, but I'm sticking with Capricciosa (Vincom Bà Triệu) because I like good food.

 
johnspud
johnspud on Joma Bakery Café - Ly Quoc Su
October 10th, 2018 at 9:06 am

Prices a little high here but I think the food quality is quite high. I do think the cakes are pretty bad - go for the banana bread since all the others are flavored sugar. I do like their salads and other healthy options. Service here is excellent and the Americano java deserves 5*.

 
johnspud
johnspud on Thai Express - Vincom Towers
October 10th, 2018 at 8:59 am

Thai Hotpot was great as was the Mango Salad w/coconut. We did have to ask several times for the music volume to be lowered. I will be back to try more dishes.

 
johnspud
johnspud on Fivimart (Ly Thai To)
June 15th, 2018 at 3:12 am

The best shopping downtown since Intimex downsized. We just need more large supermarkets!

 
johnspud
johnspud on Capricciosa Pasta & Pizza
May 23rd, 2018 at 11:09 am

My favorite hand-tossed pizza in Hanoi. Service is great, food served piping hot, and priced right. Just plain great. Yes, they also have pasta and set lunches.

 
johnspud
johnspud on Australian Dental Clinic
January 31st, 2018 at 7:06 am

Excellent treatment for an extraction this AM with Dr. Pham Thanh Cong. It was totally painless and I liked the fact that he did not try to sell me on other procedures. I will be back very soon!

 
johnspud
johnspud on Bánh Cuốn Kỳ Đồng
October 27th, 2017 at 9:45 am

You can't beat the quality of noodles at Bánh Cuốn Kỳ Đồng, and the Bánh Cuốn is top notch. This place is run by the nicest family and attracts a large number of smart locals, but there are plenty of us foreigners as well as tourists looking for a decent meal on Tong Duy Tan without spending a fortune.

 
johnspud
johnspud on Dalcheeni
July 25th, 2017 at 6:45 am

I honestly don't know why this place gets such impressive reviews. Only thing outstanding here is the decor, but the food is very average in my opinion. I have enjoyed far better quality in Indian food elsewhere in Hanoi and other VN cities. VERY AVERAGE INDIAN FOOD AT DALCHEENI!

 
johnspud
johnspud on Big C (Tran Duy Hung)
July 3rd, 2017 at 8:42 am

That terrible review kept me from going to Big C for many months, but the truth is that my trip to this market (by bus #50 from E. Ba Dinh) was pretty good, and I'll go again. I couldn't find everything I needed, but this is crazy Vietnam, after all.