ashjevans
ashjevans on Lan Salon - Galleria
October 18th, 2017 at 1:26 am

I found Lan online and was expecting a lot from the reviews I had seen. I have naturally dark blonde hair that wanted highlights and needed a tone and honestly I wish I had just box dyed it myself.
We agreed on a price at the beginning, and I had mentioned both on the phone and in person that my hair needed a tone. Obviously there was some kind of miscommunication on what toner actually is, but Lan told me that with toner would cost 4 million instead of 1.6 million.
When I said I disagreed, Lan started YELLING AT ME, which was so unprofessional and inappropriate, and telling me I was trying to trick him because I am a Westerner.
He proceeded to blowdry my hair as roughly as possible and without heat protector. It is weeks later now and my hair has never been in worse condition.

This guy clearly has a high opinion of himself, but has very little skill.

 
monkeyjul
monkeyjul on Pho Thin Bo Ho
October 9th, 2017 at 11:40 am

A food stand against the wall of a small alley, the broth here is clear, light and slightly sweet thanks to braised bones and good seasoning. The steak is tender and rich in taste. The noodles are also as good as the meat. Onion and herbs spice up the broth. The condiments are good — delicious garlic vinegar and chilli sauce. 8 out of 10 for overall taste.

 
Alanvduy
Alanvduy on Mr Cuong's Hair Salon
October 5th, 2017 at 6:16 am

Mr Cuong knows exactly what he is doing. Great skills. Hope to come back for more awesome haircuts.

 
Vince431
Vince431 on Regency International Insurance
October 2nd, 2017 at 8:26 am

After having finally decided to get a health insurance in Hanoi, and having done a quick search online, the name that was always popping up was the one of Nick Veltre. So i gave it a go.
I wanna make clear that i'm quite finicky with everything, and this time was not exception. I had tons of questions and doubts to be answered since i wanted to be sure i'd choose the best insurance plan and company for my needings. Nick was there all along the process and answered all the questions i had through email rapidly, efficiently and thoroughly. And i mean the replies came very often few minutes after my inquiries. He also gave me any kind of suggestions and explained me where each company/plan differs in, giving me quotes from each of them and detailed brochures. Eventually it took me 2-3 weeks and hundreds of questions to decide what to choose, but he was patient enough to support me in every way he could, even if that implied mailing the company i eventually chose to add some coverage they didn't want to give me at first (for futile reasons...).
Last but not least, i had the feeling i could trust him in case some issue should raise with the insurance company, which is what a broker should always be there for.
For all these reasons i recommend him without reservations. Efficiency, honesty and straight talking: this is what you get.

 
stef87
stef87 on Dinh Hair Salon
September 23rd, 2017 at 8:53 am

I had 6 months worth of regrowth, with quite dark roots I desperately wanted to fix. Realising how difficult it would be to find a decent hairdresser for blonde hair in Hanoi I was a little hesitant to take any risks, however I'm glad I did! Mr Dinh and his ?wife were so attentive and careful throughout the entire hair dying process. I have quite thick hair and it can be quite a challenge for any hairdresser to dye it properly, but Mr Dinh did a wonderful job! It's been a week since my visit and my hair is still a beautiful, natural blonde, even after many washes, no brassiness or dryness.
I would definitely recommend anyone to go to Dinh hair salon for a decent cut/colour!

 
MohamedHussein
MohamedHussein on Mamma Mia Italian Restaurant and Bar
September 14th, 2017 at 3:39 am

Great place, ignore the fact it's situated in a small shopping mall, this is a top class Italian. Great pizza and pasta, huge open plan kitchen and wood fired ovens. Terrific wine list too. Highly recommended

 
Annie13
Annie13 on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
September 10th, 2017 at 4:27 am

I am a moody, crazy person, and annoying person in the gym. I complain, and swear a lot but Chris took them all. He knows when to listen and when to ignore them.
If you have been exercise for a while, you know how useful it is when your bro or sis shout “UP” or “FUCK IT” in your face in your last reps. No pre-workout is as effective as those words.
He is realizable and trustworthy, too. If he said he’s going to show, you will see him. I have hired at least 5 trainers across 5 years, but stick with Chris for the last 3 years. We have not changed my training plan but I still see results. Unless I get bored I will ask for something new, and he will change the exercise. However, I got to be careful what I wish for lol.
Chris is also a good role model of living a healthy lifestyle, not those unrealistic only salads no fat no fun no sweet, but one that maintainable and makes sense. Not to get you to live to 100 years old in bed, but to live 70 years old and be able to throw Frisbee and eat ice cream.
Recently I have had some health issues and Chris has helped me a lot, even I am not in Vietnam. For sure he will do the same for you.

 
markom
markom on Uma (The Manor)
September 6th, 2017 at 9:26 am

I bought an office chair from UMA - lasted six months before the structure failed. Not a fault in the product per se or damage, just not well-made and overpriced. I would avoid for furnishings that involve moving parts.

 
Daniejay
Daniejay on Dinh Hair Salon
September 5th, 2017 at 8:16 am

50 USD for an amazing cut and color. Mr. Dinh and his wife are a great team. I got full blonde highlights and they came out amazing...blondes have no fear! Also the cut was exactly what I was looking for. Go to Mr. Dinhs and you won't be disappointed :)

 
Laura94
Laura94 on EM Hair Salon
September 5th, 2017 at 4:30 am

Fantastic salon for a great cause. Easy making a booking over Facebook within minutes. Answered all my questions in English. Service was fantastic throughout. Staff friendly, helpful and skilled.
Washed, cut, bleached and dyed my hair into Galaxy hair, all for $3m dong, equivalent to aud180. Would have probably cost me double back in Australia. Very pleased with the result. Would definitely recommend and return.

 
Tach Auch
Tach Auch on Westlake-Physio Center
September 5th, 2017 at 3:50 am

Hard to believe that you can find a physio in Hanoi that is on par (or even exceeding) western standards. I have quite some experience with physio's and Eric is up there with the best. It is rare to find someone who can really feel the problem and explain in detail what and why he treats you this or that way.

Very happy with the price / value and can only recommend you to give it a try.

 
supernhac
supernhac on EM Hair Salon
September 5th, 2017 at 3:05 am

What a great experience! Booking online was really easy - I just sent a message and got a response back in minutes.
When I arrived, I was treated like a total rockstar. The staff were really concerned about getting my hairstyle right. So, they brought in a volunteer translator. She came in to make sure everything went smoothly regarding conveying everything from English to Vietnamese. Wow! Everyone there was really skilled, gentle, and conscientious.
Wash, cut, color, style, and a special color sealing treatment to make the color last longer all came to 2.8M VND, or $123 USD. They even gave me a 20% discount.
That's a really reasonable price for the amount of time I was there, the number of people working on my hair, and the level of care, detail, and attention which was put into my style. Being treated like a celebrity at no extra charge.

 
Tanya Hanoi
Tanya Hanoi on Westlake-Physio Center
September 4th, 2017 at 7:50 am

My story is live proof of how physiotherapy can replace surgery. 2 months ago I hurt my shoulder in the gym and was diagnosed labral tear by doctors in Vinmec hospital. They told me there is no other way to heal this trauma and it means surgery comes with 6 month recovery when you have to keep your hand in special bandage, pain, no exercise in the gym anymore and other things that are nightmare for any active person.
I decided to find another way and somebody recommended Eric to me. Since first visit Eric diagnosed some other things with my posture which lead to shoulder trauma and I really liked his overall approach, seeing overall picture and not only details on it.
After that I started to visit Eric few times per week to make some manipulations with my shoulder and some exercises to correct muscles and my posture. I continued exercising at home and on my trips. Right now my shoulder almost healed and I think I improved my health with Eric a lot since I do not have to make surgery and spend 6 month of my life as vegetable with lack of movement.
In addition to this Eric has pleasant and attentive personality, his assistant is nice and professional too.
I recommend them to anybody who has problems with spine, body, joints or need to go through trauma recovery. Its better to give Westlake Physio a try rather cut your own body doing surgery you finally can avoid.

 
Tall Tay
Tall Tay on Vietnam Visa Central
September 3rd, 2017 at 8:32 am

I used May's services twice, once for a one-year business visa and once for a 3-month visa. Both times everything went very smoothly and professionally. They offer a very useful fast-tracking service at the airport: They have someone waiting for you who does all the paperwork. All you have to do is hand him your passport and papers, and 5 minutes later you have your visa. They are 100% professional, always very friendly, and very helpful if you have additional questions. They are a joy to work with, so I can warmly recommend May's services to anyone.

 
Penelope
Penelope on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 12:08 pm

I trained with Chris for a year and only stopped upon relocating to Indonesia. Chris is a great trainer, who was able to strengthen muscles weakened by injury, as well as helping establish realistic fitness goals. As Chris is so well attuned to his clients needs he will be able to suggest making subtle tweaks to your diet or training which will have a significant overall impact.

 
oluha
oluha on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 5:57 am

Chris is a very knowledgeable and experienced personal trainer. He will design a perfect workout plan, as well as work on adjusting your diet depending on your expectations: whether you want to lose weight, gain muscles or simply get fitter and healthier (don't worry, he will make sure it includes a glass of wine or a cold beer after yet another hot and busy week in Hanoi).
I highly recommend him to anyone that wants to begin or continue their adventure with sport with a professional and friendly trainer that knows what summer in the Nam means ;)

 
KellyB72
KellyB72 on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 3:40 am

I have been training with Chris for over a year now and can't recommend him highly enough. He has helped me to achieve so many goals, (more than I ever thought I ever thought I could achieve), and continue to set new ones. He designs well thought out and effective training plans and his knowledge of nutrition is exceptional. If you need help with any aspect of fitness or nutrition Chris should most definitely be your first choice.

 
JohnnyGoodfellow
JohnnyGoodfellow on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 3:17 am

I've been working with Chris for a year now and have never felt better. He has helped me with my diet, my exercise routine and general health. He is professional but fun to work with and creates a good environment to feel both comfortable and highly motivated. Would highly recommend.

 
Sholto
Sholto on Westlake-Physio Center
August 28th, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Westlake-Physio Center changed my life. If you have any problems that need physiotherapy this is the only place in Hanoi that you need. I don't often make recommendations but this is one place I can highly recommend in the greatest of confidence.

Eric, the physiotherapist, is an ultimate professional. Someone I have come to trust, respect and admire.

Given the nature of my injury and it being my first major injury I was scared to say the least and asked countless questions every session. Eric always had the answer and also explained it to me in a logical and understandable way, making me feel at complete ease.

He has my full trust. When he explains why we do certain things and what we are trying to achieve I always see the results of our work. Which keeps you motivated and inspired.

As mentioned he not only helped me with my physical injuries but also helped me fight the mental battle. Knowledge is power and he walks you through all your feelings (physical and mental) and helps you understand what you are going through and tells you how you are going to obercome it.


In May I underwent surgery to repair a ruptured ACL, 3rd grade tear to my lateral meniscus and a 2nd grade tear to my medial meniscus.

I started going to Westlake-Physio Center about 3 weeks post surgery. I was 2 weeks behind schedule and Eric (the main physiotherapist) went to work straight away.

We started with pain management. He explained each process and what our short and long term goals were. He set weekly targets and always gave me honest feedback.

We moved on to gaining extension and election. A painful and strenuous task but Eric kept me motivated and helped me win the mental battle.

Now we are at the strengthening phones of the rehabilitation.

I went to him four times a week. Now coming up on 4 months my knee is strong and stable and We are on schedule and maybe even slightly ahead.

We still have work to do but Eric provides me with the exercises and programmes I need to improve my condition and monitors my condition weekly.

I was still happy to go to physiotherapy 4 times a week but Eric actually recommended that I see him fewer times a week as the things I should focus on I can do at home or in a gym.

That's the kind of guy he is. He's always putting your needs before his own.

Just a mention to his co-workers that assist in with massages and strengthening excersises. They are really professional, caring and I cannot thank them enough.

To conclude I will once again encourage you to go to Westlake-Physio. A professional set up that provides you with the ideal environment for recovery and rehabilitation. If you have any physical problems, I am 100% confident that Eric will be able to find the route of the problem and help you not only in the short term but in the long term as well.

I wish i could give more stars.


 
John lalor
John lalor on Dao's Care
August 24th, 2017 at 7:19 am

Dao's Care is less then a year old. The massage and herbal bath service is great. The visually impaired therapists are exceptional. Well trained and prifessional.
A visit to the Dao's Care is a must whether your holidaying ir living in hanoi. You will feel felaxed and invigorated. I did.