pierredh
pierredh on SJ Vietnam
June 11th, 2018 at 11:07 am

a great volunteer organization !!!

I was volunteer with them, it was very very nice.

 
Cyprusegypt
Cyprusegypt on Vinmec International Hospital
June 3rd, 2018 at 5:36 am

We recently went through a surgical procedure with our teen daughter, and this was a very stressful time. Her surgery required a 4-day stay in the Surgical Ward on Floor 6.

*We had a fabulous surgeon, Dr. Dai. I would return to him again and again if needed. We fully believed in his ability to care for our daughter, and he was the "go to" person during our entire experience.

*The Ward was fine. Hospitals aren't hotels, and this one was as clean and organized as any other I've been to. Both my husband and I took turns spending the nights and never had any issues (though we, of course, hated the uncomfortable cots). Our daughter's needs were met well when she had an issue, but the language barrier can be very difficult and add another stress layer.

*Care was so-so. As I said, Dr. Dai was fabulous! However, our daughter was given a back catheter after surgery to alleviate pain. The (female) anesthesiologist said she would have no pain for 24 hours, so you can imagine our confusion when our daughter continuously complained about pain. By the end of the 24-hour period, after having several people check machines, etc., I LUCKILY was able to check her back when the pain med machine turned on: The med was dripping right down her back! I took videos and called Dr. Dai, who immediately came to her room. The catheter had slipped from her back, so I can only assume it was never placed well.

Dr. Dai handled the situation and got her pain under control.

*Our daughter is a vegetarian and was served rice congee 9 times. I'm not kidding. It wasn't good the first time, so you can imagine how we felt after the 9th time. We couldn't get anyone to understand that we expected something vegetarian besides congee, to no avail. Thankfully, we walked to the mall for food and brought plenty from home each day.

*Would I do it again? Yes. People overestimate healthcare in America, so we expect very little in terms of "quality" when handling an unexpected surgery. We wanted a GREAT doctor who was experienced and knew what they were doing. We found that in Dr. Dai and our oncologist. The rest of the issues were things we could deal with, as long as our daughter was treated and healthy.

 
meredith
meredith on Ruby Plaza
May 29th, 2018 at 9:08 am

Whilst on holidays, I went to Ruby Plaza to purchase a ring with 3 rubies
I chose the stones and design and they made it in the time stipulated.
Unfortunately, after wearing the ring for 3 times a stone fell out
I emailed the company twice to see how we could fix it and they did not respond.
Might be just unfortunate but at least they could have responded
So be careful, as I wonder if there jewellers are as good as they could be and if any issues they are not there to help/support

 
Maryne
Maryne on Tran Linh Hair Creation
May 27th, 2018 at 9:45 am

Really bad hair salon. I went for haircut and thin highlights in order to cover my natural hair (balayage) (the lengths of my hair was already white). His incompetent employees bleached all my head and even my length, so of course my hair was not white but yellow. They even colored in yellow my side cut. Then they made really damn ugly dirty marks everywhere. Then I asked to cover with a color (white of course), and they did not applied what I asked but applied another color. So finally my hair is dirty purple. I don’t even understand how is it possible that people like this is allowed to practice this job. They are far from being professional. And the must of the must, they are even not sorry and they let me go with this nasty hair colour. Avoid to go to this hair salon, is it the best I can recommend you.
Of course, they dare to provide really expensive services.

 
WilliaClayt
WilliaClayt on Hanoi Web Studio
May 24th, 2018 at 5:19 am

Rapid Tone Diet :- Fast Tone Diet does not understand any huge reactions for the body of the client. The course toward gathering of this equation is controlled by the specialists to guarantee that nothing turns out truly and everything is done in the most ideal way that is available. https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/where-to-buy-rapid-tone-diet-weight-loss

Diet >> http://factforhealth.com/rapid-tone-diet/

 
johnspud
johnspud on Capricciosa Pasta & Pizza
May 23rd, 2018 at 11:09 am

My favorite hand-tossed pizza in Hanoi. Service is great, food served piping hot, and priced right. Just plain great. Yes, they also have pasta and set lunches.

 
sharklasers
sharklasers on E-connect Vietnam
May 13th, 2018 at 8:22 am

Do not work for this company. They promised me so much but when i got there they changed everything as they pleased.
They did not pay me on time.
They"misplaced" my documents and didn't take any responsibility for it.
They showed me lots of nice pictures before i came but what they actually had was nothing like it.
Do not make the same mistake i did.Don't even consider working for them.

 
melissamact
melissamact on HOTTABLE Asia
May 9th, 2018 at 1:30 am

Very informative. A gold mine for foodies in Hanoi

 
zmbogdan
zmbogdan on Dinh Hair Salon
April 22nd, 2018 at 5:37 am

I visited this salon for a haircut, based on recommendations read here. As my hair is thin and straight, good haircut is a must in my situation. Also, i have a fairly short hair and need a cut every 5-6 weeks. I’m fully pleased I found this place and thank all reviewers for posting.
One outdated piece of info here is salon’s address. Apparently three years ago they moved to 67 Pham Hong Thai Street in Ba Dinh. Just so others who go there for the first time can have easier time finding it.

 
MJCHanoi
MJCHanoi on Pacific Cross Health Insurance
April 16th, 2018 at 3:29 am

Minh has been a great help to me over the past 3 years with all my queries and questions. The team are very responsive and have helped me out in medical emergencies in Vietnam and abroad.I would highly recommend meeting with the team and discussing your options, they are very well informed.

 
ayk912
ayk912 on RT International Co., LTD.
April 3rd, 2018 at 6:31 am

Wonderful packers with excellent service!! The stuff came to measure estimate rate just after my phone call. I moved from HCMC to Hanoi with my husband with a quite numbers of cartons but it cost less than other company I used in a past. We were so happy with their hospitality and its value, we will difinitly recommend RT. Really the best rate and service in Vietnam!!!!!

 
High Plane Drifter
High Plane Drifter on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
March 25th, 2018 at 1:48 pm

Chris is likely the best trainer in Hanoi. Try him out if you want to be fit!

 
nicecuckeo
nicecuckeo on Shelton Development Group
March 6th, 2018 at 1:52 am

I've worked with Shelton Development group. They are good company that set high standard for teaching English, and serve their people with care.

 
Judyflipper
Judyflipper on Hanoi Airport Transfer Service
February 23rd, 2018 at 4:21 am

Thank you for making my trip to hotel and back to airport so easy. Car was clean, driver was helpful too. Driver also on time. Fee was reasonable too. Can WhatsApp, line, WeChat. They will reply immediately. Will use their service again.

 
fionarobertsonto
fionarobertsonto on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
February 1st, 2018 at 6:36 am

Chris has been a huge help to me. I've always struggled with yo-yo dieting and the never ending cycle of it whilst hating going to the gym. Since training with Chris, he has educated me on flexible dieting and created exercise plans that will keep me motivated and interested. I'm nearly at my goal weight, and in all honesty haven't had to sacrifice too much for it! Thanks again Chris!

 
johnspud
johnspud on Australian Dental Clinic
January 31st, 2018 at 7:06 am

Excellent treatment for an extraction this AM with Dr. Pham Thanh Cong. It was totally painless and I liked the fact that he did not try to sell me on other procedures. I will be back very soon!

 
awaters
awaters on A-Roaming Bodyworker - Therapeutic Massage
January 24th, 2018 at 11:12 am

It is difficult for me to begin to explain how much Karen has helped my mind, body, and soul. The energy and experiences she provides are unlike anything I have felt in my life. I had never experienced bodywork before and she opened a new world to me! She makes bodywork approachable, personal, and interesting to allow you to connect with the process in an individual, unique way. I have recommended Karen to both my friends and family and would encourage anyone seeking to better their life through growth and reflection to visit her. Her work is truly transformative.t is difficult for me to begin to explain how much Karen has helped my mind, body, and soul. The energy and experiences she provides are unlike anything I have felt in my life. I had never experienced bodywork before and she opened a new world to me! She makes bodywork approachable, personal, and interesting to allow you to connect with the process in an individual, unique way. I have recommended Karen to both my friends and family and would encourage anyone seeking to better their life through growth and reflection to visit her. Her work is truly transformative.

 
ntqhhanoi
ntqhhanoi on Dong Phong Art Gallery
January 14th, 2018 at 2:30 pm

I have bought a few pieces from Mr Long. He is among the best art curators in Hanoi. I love his galleries (he has a larger one near the Politechnic University (Dai Hoc Bach Khoa). He has good eyes to pick emerging talented young artists. His art is not decorative but the real art, with a lot of soul in it. Strongly recommend.

 
cheesecakegirl
cheesecakegirl on E-connect Vietnam
January 10th, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Looks like I really dodged a bullet. I applied to work at E-connect in June and I was immediately offered a teaching position, which would start at the end of August.

At the very last minute -- that is, with only one week to spare -- they told me I have to get my documents notarized at my embassy in America in order to get my Vietnam work permit. Well, that is no easy task here unless you live near Washington DC or New York City. If you don't live near those cities, you have to plan at least a 3-day trip to get everything done. Aside from that, my documents would have had to be notarized by a notary in my state's capital BEFORE being notarized at the DC or NY embassies. For me, that trip to the capital would have been a 2-day trip.

The guy who hired me (who shall remain nameless) said I could get my docs notarized at the U.S. embassy in Hanoi when I arrived. But it turns out, the embassy there decided to close for the entire month of September for renovations. I let the guy know this, and he basically said: "TOO BAD."

I had already bought my nonrefundable flight, too. That REALLY angered me. They had told me they were impressed with my resume, told me everything was spot-on and perfect, and encouraged me to get my plane ticket.

I had zero clue that you had to get your documents notarized before working in Vietnam. Had they told me all of this back in June (instead of a week before I was scheduled to leave the States), I could have gotten everything done.

Besides all of this notary garbage, the guy who hired me said: "We can not put a teacher into a school posting without work permit and demo lesson." -- And again, he told me this AFTER I bought my plane ticket.

So, what if I HAD come all the way to Vietnam, only to be rejected because they (whoever "they" are) did not like my demo lesson?????

After considering everything, I told them to forget it and they can find another teacher. The guy who hired me said: "Well, I have enough teachers here for now, but Cities X, Y, and Z need teachers if you're interested."

NO WAY, I told him.

After reading these other reviews (as well as other negative reviews on other sites), I'm happy I did not join E-connect. I'm sorry the rest of you worked for them and had a bad experience.

I'm just glad there are hundreds of other teaching opportunities available in Vietnam.

E-connect needs to either shut down or finally get their crap together.

 
kimphuong
kimphuong on Tiếng Việt Ơi Teaching Group
January 10th, 2018 at 12:20 am

I just started learning with TVO for a few months and I really enjoy their style & professionalism. My experience has been very positive and I look forward to each class with my teacher Mi. She is very sweet and talented. She helps makes learning Vietnamese fun and exciting. I highly suggest TVO for anyone interesting in learning Vietnamese. I live in Hawaii but learn via Skype and its great!