oluha
oluha on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 5:57 am

Chris is a very knowledgeable and experienced personal trainer. He will design a perfect workout plan, as well as work on adjusting your diet depending on your expectations: whether you want to lose weight, gain muscles or simply get fitter and healthier (don't worry, he will make sure it includes a glass of wine or a cold beer after yet another hot and busy week in Hanoi).
I highly recommend him to anyone that wants to begin or continue their adventure with sport with a professional and friendly trainer that knows what summer in the Nam means ;)

 
KellyB72
KellyB72 on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 3:40 am

I have been training with Chris for over a year now and can't recommend him highly enough. He has helped me to achieve so many goals, (more than I ever thought I ever thought I could achieve), and continue to set new ones. He designs well thought out and effective training plans and his knowledge of nutrition is exceptional. If you need help with any aspect of fitness or nutrition Chris should most definitely be your first choice.

 
JohnnyGoodfellow
JohnnyGoodfellow on Chris Loft - Personal Trainer
August 31st, 2017 at 3:17 am

I've been working with Chris for a year now and have never felt better. He has helped me with my diet, my exercise routine and general health. He is professional but fun to work with and creates a good environment to feel both comfortable and highly motivated. Would highly recommend.

 
Sholto
Sholto on Westlake-Physio Center
August 28th, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Westlake-Physio Center changed my life. If you have any problems that need physiotherapy this is the only place in Hanoi that you need. I don't often make recommendations but this is one place I can highly recommend in the greatest of confidence.

Eric, the physiotherapist, is an ultimate professional. Someone I have come to trust, respect and admire.

Given the nature of my injury and it being my first major injury I was scared to say the least and asked countless questions every session. Eric always had the answer and also explained it to me in a logical and understandable way, making me feel at complete ease.

He has my full trust. When he explains why we do certain things and what we are trying to achieve I always see the results of our work. Which keeps you motivated and inspired.

As mentioned he not only helped me with my physical injuries but also helped me fight the mental battle. Knowledge is power and he walks you through all your feelings (physical and mental) and helps you understand what you are going through and tells you how you are going to obercome it.


In May I underwent surgery to repair a ruptured ACL, 3rd grade tear to my lateral meniscus and a 2nd grade tear to my medial meniscus.

I started going to Westlake-Physio Center about 3 weeks post surgery. I was 2 weeks behind schedule and Eric (the main physiotherapist) went to work straight away.

We started with pain management. He explained each process and what our short and long term goals were. He set weekly targets and always gave me honest feedback.

We moved on to gaining extension and election. A painful and strenuous task but Eric kept me motivated and helped me win the mental battle.

Now we are at the strengthening phones of the rehabilitation.

I went to him four times a week. Now coming up on 4 months my knee is strong and stable and We are on schedule and maybe even slightly ahead.

We still have work to do but Eric provides me with the exercises and programmes I need to improve my condition and monitors my condition weekly.

I was still happy to go to physiotherapy 4 times a week but Eric actually recommended that I see him fewer times a week as the things I should focus on I can do at home or in a gym.

That's the kind of guy he is. He's always putting your needs before his own.

Just a mention to his co-workers that assist in with massages and strengthening excersises. They are really professional, caring and I cannot thank them enough.

To conclude I will once again encourage you to go to Westlake-Physio. A professional set up that provides you with the ideal environment for recovery and rehabilitation. If you have any physical problems, I am 100% confident that Eric will be able to find the route of the problem and help you not only in the short term but in the long term as well.

I wish i could give more stars.


 
John lalor
John lalor on Dao's Care
August 24th, 2017 at 7:19 am

Dao's Care is less then a year old. The massage and herbal bath service is great. The visually impaired therapists are exceptional. Well trained and prifessional.
A visit to the Dao's Care is a must whether your holidaying ir living in hanoi. You will feel felaxed and invigorated. I did.

 
saminhanoi
saminhanoi on Cafe CCCP
August 21st, 2017 at 9:59 am

Been here 3 times now. They have great black bread which brings me back. I also like the homely feel of the place. It's quite cheap too. My only criticism is that you should think about calling ahead as sometimes they are closed.

 
saminhanoi
saminhanoi on Thang Motorcycle Tour
August 21st, 2017 at 9:54 am

I took a 3 day tour in the mountains west of Hanoi with Thanh. Fantastic ride with brand new CRF 250cc hondas and 150 xr hondas. The bikes were faultless, not a single problem with 10 bikes the entire ride. If you want the best bikes this is the place.

 
hpkingdom
hpkingdom on The Oasis (Xuan Dieu)
August 15th, 2017 at 11:01 am

Ordered half a kilo of chorizo online. Didn't get informed there is more than one variant. Got the imported spanish one at thrice the price. Called up management, blamed me for putting wrong order. Obviously, didn't get a refund.

 
drdd333
drdd333 on Oriental Medicine Bao Xuan Duong
August 12th, 2017 at 7:14 am

My wife and I have lived in Hanoi for two years. At one time we found Yakushi spa to be a good place to go for a massage. Recently we found a spa that hands down beats any other we have visited. Bao Xuan Duong spa is a great experience. First, we enjoyed a sauna, then a message and 'treatment package' that lasted two hours. The massage was one of the best I have had. If you go for the deluxe massage, it will cost you 500,000 VND. If you are not interested in the spa and special oils, a 90 minute massage will run 300,000 VND. I encourage anyone looking for a legitimate spa to visit. As a medical professional, I can attest to their techniques and therapies. - Dr. David

 
Chris66
Chris66 on EM Hair Salon
August 11th, 2017 at 7:22 am

I've had three haircuts at EM Salon and been 100% satisfied each time. The mini spa is very relaxing and an hour well spent. I am a western male and find the salon atmosphere comfortable and not intimidating. All the staff are very friendly and try very hard with their English. It's also supporting a very worthwhile cause in REACH. That's why I give the salon 5 stars.

 
anhinvn
anhinvn on Kangaroo Cafe
August 7th, 2017 at 4:32 am

DO NOT TAKE THEIR HALONG BAY TOUR!! Kangaroo cafe is the worst tour agency I have ever experienced. The tour guide Max is the rudest person in the world who should not deal in customer service. There are so many great tours in Halong bay, don't waste yours with this one.

 
Anony171
Anony171 on E-connect Vietnam
August 6th, 2017 at 8:55 am

If I could give this company a -1000 I would. The most disorganized, unprofessional company I've ever seen in Vietnam. The people here never take responsibility for anything, everything is always the foreign teacher's fault. I've seen instances where foreign teachers have had visa issues, have been paid late (Sometimes up to a month or later late), and the company accepted no responsibility or showed no remorse whatsoever. This company is all about the bottom line and could care less about its teachers or students. Also if you work here, good luck finding anything like oh, printing paper, a basic resource all teachers need, because apparently they can't afford this or just don't care to give it to the teachers so they can do their job. Some of the nastiest people I've ever seen in any company, they will stab you in your back so beware of this company and avoid at all costs!! One of the most horrible work experiences of my life happened with this company. Especially beware all single female teachers, I myself as a male have seen many instances where female teachers were discriminated against and abused by this company just for being female, and were treated with less preference than their male counterparts, such as being denied pay for the same thing the male teacher was paid for. This company doens't care what happens to the teachers or the kids, they're just trying to line their pockets and withold as much money as they can from you. Be careful to count your hours carefully as they will always miscalculate your hours, and conveniently these always work out to be less than your actual hours you worked. Avoid avoid avoid!!

 
hello666
hello666 on Timeclub
July 29th, 2017 at 4:12 am

Awful place, we visited and got seated on an empty balcony where the rain and wind just hit our faces, after trying the foods there we had food poisonings, I tried to contact the police but they already close the place before we came back. Avoid at all your costs. Just a place to make money without any morals.

 
piip
piip on Pho Cuon Thanh Hang
July 27th, 2017 at 8:32 am

phở cuốn là 1 món ăn rất ngon nó thanh mát, bổ dưỡng đầy đủ dưỡng chất very good

 
JHodgson
JHodgson on Washington Language Center
July 27th, 2017 at 7:12 am

I worked for Washington Language Center for just 5 months, but I had an absolute wonderful experience with them. Someone from WLC picked me up at the airport when I arrived, they took care of my work permit (and everything that came along with it), and any problem I had was dealt with promptly and effectively.
I worked at the center where I really enjoyed teaching the older age-groups and I felt that the book was a great match with their level.
I also taught at a secondary school where I had a lot of freedom to teach the students how I saw fit. I really enjoyed that experience because learning a new language shouldn't always be about what's written in a book and with all the freedom I had, I was able to incorporate a lot of fun and educational activities into the mix!

Overall, my 5 months at Washington were great. Unfortunately I had to leave early for health reasons, and the company was very supportive on this matter.

I would highly recommend Washington Language Center

 
johnspud
johnspud on Dalcheeni
July 25th, 2017 at 6:45 am

I honestly don't know why this place gets such impressive reviews. Only thing outstanding here is the decor, but the food is very average in my opinion. I have enjoyed far better quality in Indian food elsewhere in Hanoi and other VN cities. VERY AVERAGE INDIAN FOOD AT DALCHEENI!

 
willjoy
willjoy on Club Hi-End
July 23rd, 2017 at 6:39 am

Good pool, good alcohol, friendly staff. Great place to spend a night after work.

 
sibubble
sibubble on E-connect Vietnam
July 19th, 2017 at 5:33 am

I have now been working for E-connect for 2 months and have never been made more welcome by a company. I understand that in the past, mistakes have been made. This is only down to lack of experience and things getting too big too fast. The effort that has now been put into making the whole company as professional as possible is second to none. I have contacted many existing members of staff and none of them have ever been underpaid, as stated by the the previous reviewer. The new branches are all completely refurbished and modern. The teacher contract and it's many many benefits would be hard to beat and I can say that with 8 years teaching experience in many different countries. what i will say to any teachers looking for a comfortable, steady contract with a full course provided for all classes, is to come and have a look for yourselves and then make up your own minds and to not only believe a review written by somebody who may or may not have had a problem in the past.

 
willjoy
willjoy on Gapama Coffee Shop
July 12th, 2017 at 11:59 am

A lovely coffee shop with Japanese and English flavor. Excellent macha tea and coffee. Try the Ginger Tea!

 
johnspud
johnspud on Big C (Tran Duy Hung)
July 3rd, 2017 at 8:42 am

That terrible review kept me from going to Big C for many months, but the truth is that my trip to this market (by bus #50 from E. Ba Dinh) was pretty good, and I'll go again. I couldn't find everything I needed, but this is crazy Vietnam, after all.